top of page

Makeup for the Outdoorsy Woman

I know this concept may sound counterintuitive, but doing makeup that looks natural (like actually natural) is a sought-after skill (and it's not difficult, I assure you!) These products and this natural look will have you feeling radiant and will keep your skin healthy, hydrated and protected from the suns rays. The more health/anti-aging benefits in my products, the better.

I don't always wear makeup, ask anyone and they will tell you I rock it au natural often - and proud of it. However, I sure do love artistry and the use of shading, highlighting, contrasting and colours to enhance certain features; i.e. my brows, cheekbones, lashes, lips, etc. *Enters makeup.

I LOVE the outdoors. I love going on adventures and taking in the beauty around me. I also love feeling beautiful while taking in this beauty. I swear I have Italian in me for how much I seek out beauty in all its forms. However my background is Dutch and Swedish.

I digress... If your shy around makeup or don't know why anyone would wear makeup on a hike - try it. I have a feeling you will be pleasantly surprised by how it makes you carry yourself.

Here are some tools and tricks of the trade that I love to use as an outdoorsy woman myself. Feel free to take one, two or all of the tips, I just urge you to find a good facial and body sunscreen to protect your beautiful skin while you're outside!

The 'Look' Au Natural

The 'Tools'

^ Don't be overwhelmed. I will break these down real simple! :)

Step 1: Tinted Sunscreen/Moisturizer

This tinted mineral sunscreen is THE BOMB. If you take anything away from this post, it should be Coola Face SPF 20 Rose Essence Tint. It's packed with natural, organic, anti-aging, skin-lovin' ingredients such as Vitamin C and E, acai oil and cucumber extract. Yum.

Step 2: Protect Your Bod

While we're on the Coola train - I've been getting better at protecting the skin I'm in. Our face isn't the only body part that takes a hit from sun damage. This Body SPF Plumeria Moisturizer will feel more like a treat than slip slopping on your typical greasy sunscreen (It's light as a feather!) Plus you will be transported to the tropics of Hawaii with it's heavenly smell. Yes please!

Step 3: Moisturize and protect your lips + add a touch of colour

You can use any type of lip sunscreen here, these products are some of my go-to's. First put on your lip protectant and second, boost your lips with your fav lip colour. I like to use a brighter pink or even a nude colour. Play and have fun here with colours - the trick is just to dab the lip colour so it gives your lip a faint tint of the colour you choose.

*Note: Step 1-3 are an important part of protecting your precious skin! Try and get in the habit of applying it every day. (Unless you're having a hermit day (inside) which is completely needed sometimes!)

Step 4: Concealer/Highlighter

A little dab will do ya'. Place concealer under eyes and press on with fingers. Put just a touch under the browbone to highlight. I use Ben Nye's HD concealer in 'Shinsel 1'. MAC also has some great options depending on skin type. Use whatever concealer you like best!

Step 5: Mineral Powder with SPF

Apply a mineral powder foundation over the skin with a powder brush. I use Jane Iredale's Amazing Base Loose Mineral Powder SPF 20 in 'Golden Glow.' It gives you a creamy and luminous finish and feels like silk. So luxurious!

Step 6: Contour and Bronze

Take a colour like MAC's Taupe Powder Blush and apply just under cheekbones and in the 'V' of the eyelid as shown below. I put this in my brows with an finer angled brush to fill and define my brows. Follow the dots!

Contour

Brown dots = contour

Bronzer

Orange dots = bronzer

Step 7: Lashes

Sometimes all I do is curl the lashes as it makes my eyes look more open with freshly curled and perfectly fanned lashes. Or, take it one step further!

Cherry Blooms are one of my fav mascaras. All natural, conditions the lashes and is water resistant - no smudging! Did I mention it makes your lashes 300x longer?

VOILA

There you have it! Au natural and ready for a beautiful adventure!

~Kira


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page